Jeff Nelson missed a few tonight, but his calls favored the Dodgers overall and his Game Score's reflect a good game behind the plate. For the Dodgers, Nelson gave two high strikes and two low strikes and only really missed two calls for them. His balk call in the first is discussed in the next section. His big gifts/misses were: In the first, Nelson gave Bolsinger this high strike against LeMahieu (1-1 count, 1 out, runner at 2B):
LeMahieu would fly out to RF. In the third, LeMahieu was once again the victim, this time on a low called strike, albeit with a 3-0 count which we have seen expands the zone quite a bit for most umpires (3-0 count, 1 out, nobody on):
He would eventually walk anyway. In the fifth, once again DJ LaMahieu had a high strike called on him (0-0 count, 0 outs, runner at 1B):
DJ would single to CF. In the seventh, Ravin got the benefit of this called strike against Tulowitzki (1-1 count, 0 out, nobody on):
Tulo would ground out to second base. As far as misses, Nelson called this a ball to Barnes in the fourth (Bolsinger missed his spot, but clearly a strike)(0-0 count, 2 outs, nobody on):
Barnes would walk but be stranded at 1B. Finally, Nelson did not give Ravin this strike against Blackmon (1-1 count, 2 outs, runner at 1B):
Blackmon would single, advancing the runner to third, but both would be stranded. To be fair to Jeff Nelson, both of his missed calls for the Dodgers were missed locations and most umpires don't give those strikes.
Close Calls & Reviews:
There were not any challenges or reviews during the game. In the first inning Jeff Nelson called a balk on Bolsinger when he picked off Blackmon attempting to steal third. This is a call that (A) should be called by either the second or third base umpire as they have the better angle, and (B) is a complete grey area on exactly where the pitcher steps. Basically, the rule as enforced here says that Bolsinger has to step towards second base in order to pick-off - not third. As you can see, he clearly stepped behind the rubber. Bolsinger even pointed out his spike mark on the mound when he was arguing the call.
Jeff Nelson had a good game calling balls and strikes, but he got this one wrong. Fortunately the run would have scored from second on the following base hit so it ended up being a non-factor.